Zurich Climate Prize 2016 Award Ceremony

The Zurich Climate Prize Switzerland & Liechtenstein was awarded for the third time on November 8, 2016. Projects that contribute to reducing CO2 emissions by cutting resource consumption, increasing energy efficiency, or bringing about changes in behavior were sought. 97 projects were submitted and evaluated. The independent jury led by ETH Professor em René Schwarzenbach selected the five winners.

The Umwelt Arena in Spreitenbach offered the right platform, and Joachim Masur, CEO of Zurich Switzerland, had the honor of welcoming 200 project representatives and around 300 guests and customers who had been invited to the award ceremony. An impressive LED show from “The Blackouts” was a brilliant conclusion to the ceremony.

You can find out more about the winners for 2016 here.

  • Christa Markwalder
  • Joachim Masur
  • Hauptgewinner
  • Thomas Vellacott
  • Gewinner Startup

Prize winners

All portraits of the Climate Prize winners click here.

Prize winner Special Prize Start-up

Many innovative ideas for climate protection are developed and implemented by start-ups. For the Sart-up Prize winner 2016 click here.

Zurich at the Umwelt Arena

At the Umwelt Arena, Zurich addresses the consequences of climate change and encourages awareness of climate protection click here.